Published 2014-04-08

Bergens Tidende won SKUP award

BT won the SKUP Award for Investigative Journalism, and Aftenposten won one of the prestigious diplomas and the award for International Reporter.

SKUP, the Norwegian Foundation for Investigative Journalism, presents an award for good investigative journalism. The award, worth NOK 50,000, is Norway’s most prestigious journalism award.

Bergens Tidende journalists Ingunn Røren, Ingrid Fredriksen and Anne Hovden won the prestigious award for their story ‘Sviktet – Jannes historie’ [Betrayed – Janne’s story]. The winning story is about Janne, a women suffering severe health problems as the result of prolonged sexual abuse and negligence throughout her childhood. The gripping story of Janne’s difficult childhood was perhaps Norway’s most-read story last year, with over 1,000,000 views.

This year’s SKUP award for investigative journalism was shared between two winners. As well at the story on Janne, the team behind Dagbladet’s project ‘Null CTRL’ [Zero CTRL] won the most prestigious award in what is regarded as Norway’s journalism championship.

Aftenposten: Diploma and International Reporter award

Three diplomas were also awarded, one of them to Aftenposten for its project entitled ‘Forsvarskuppene’ [Defence property deals]. Read more about the diploma winners here.

Aftenposten journalist Kristin Solberg was for the second time named International Reporter for her coverage of Afghanistan. Read more about the International Reporter award here.

BT and Janne’s story

  • Read the winning story about Janne here
  • Read the methodology report for ‘Jannes historie’ here
  • Read the jury’s citation here
  • The Janne story won the Golden Umbrella award last week and has also been nominated in MBL’s Best Digital Storytelling category and in Schibsted Journalism Awards’ Best Storytelling category.
  • After winning four SKUP diplomas the four previous years, BT has now won its fifth SKUP award in as many years, making it the most the most consistent winner during this period (along with Dagens Næringsliv).
  • The last time a Schibsted newspaper won the SKUP award was in 2005.
  • All the SKUP merits earned by BT over the past five years have been for digital journalism.